Newtown Democrats


Newtown Township

Newtown Borough

Council Rock School Board

Bucks County


Pennsylvania State Senate: Steve Santarsiero (District 10)

Lower Makefield, Thursday, March 24, 2022


Steve Santarsiero today announced the launching of his campaign for re-election to the Pennsylvania State Senate in District 10 (Bucks County).

After driving to Harrisburg on March 22 to file his papers to formally become a candidate – including the signatures of over 1,200 residents supporting his re-election – Santarsiero reflected on his three-plus years as a state senator.

”I am proud of what my team and I have been able to accomplish in that time,” Santarsiero explained. “During this unprecedented pandemic, my office has helped thousands of residents on issues like unemployment relief, getting small businesses needed grants, and connecting people with life-saving vaccines.”

“But we also have made a real difference in bringing investments into Bucks County, including millions of dollars for the Pennsylvania Biotech Center’s business incubator in Buckingham, Doylestown Hospital’s state-of-the-art heart and vascular center and its award-winning Children’s Village, and many other projects and businesses in just about every community in the district,” he added.

Santarsiero is particularly proud of having played a key role, along with his friend, Representative John Galloway, in reviving the opportunity zone at the old US Steel site in Falls Township. “Getting the opportunity zone reinstated at the site paved the way for the development of a regional distribution center that will create over 8,000 construction jobs and over 10,000 permanent jobs when fully built out,” Santarsiero explained. “It truly has the potential to be a game changer for the economy of Lower Bucks County.”

Santarsiero has a long record of fighting for environmental protection. It is not a surprise, therefore, that a year ago he led the Senate Democratic caucus in challenging Senate Republicans’ attempt to lift the ban on fracking in the Delaware River Basin. Santarsiero and his colleagues filed suit and won in Federal District Court. The case isnow on appeal in the Third Circuit Court of Appeals in Philadelphia. “Over 5 million of us get our drinking water from the Delaware River. This lawsuit is about protecting that critical resource and the health of millions of Pennsylvanians,” Santarsiero said. He anticipates that he and his colleagues will prevail later this spring.

In Harrisburg, Santarsiero has played an important role as the Democratic Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee. But he said that his number one priority is the passage of SB 78, also known as Kayden’s Law, the legislation that he authored with his Republican counterpart on the committee, Senator Lisa Baker. Named after Lower Makefield resident Kayden Mancuso, who was brutally murdered by her biological father during a court-ordered, unsupervised visit in August 2018, the bill would rewrite Pennsylvania’s child custody law, putting the health and safety of children above all other considerations. “Make no mistake,” Santarsiero explained, “Kayden’s Law will save lives. We need to get it to the Governor’s desk.” SB 78 passed the State Senate 46-4 last June. It now awaits action in the State House, where Representatives Tina Davis and Perry Warren are working with Santarsiero to pass the bill.

In a second term, Santarsiero would continue to make investment and job growth in the 10th District a priority, including in Bristol Township and Borough, which have been added to the district. He will also continue to fight for new laws to protect children, meaningful legislation to reverse climate change, protections for working families and organized labor, gun violence protection measures like universal background checks to keep guns out of the hands of criminals, and civil rights protections for all people, including members of the LGBTQ community.

“Just about 20 years ago, in the months following the attacks on September 11th, I decided to leave the legal profession and become a teacher as a way of serving the community,” Santarsiero explained. “That time teaching kids at Bensalem High School remains one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. But it also taught me an important lesson: the next generation is counting on us to make our state and our country a better place for them, a place where they can live the American Dream. That is our obligation and that really sums up why I serve and why I am running.”

U.S. Congress: Ashley Ehasz (PA District 1)

Ashley Ehasz is a U.S. Army Veteran and Apache helicopter pilot.

She grew up in Southeastern Pennsylvania, and at the age of 17 with a waiver in hand, she joined the Army, seeing that as her best option to afford her college education. If elected, Ashley would be the first woman serving in Congress to have graduated from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point.

Upon graduating West Point, Ashley was commissioned as a Second Lieutenant within the U.S. Army Aviation branch. Her first duty station was Fort Rucker, Alabama, where she attended flight school. While there, she trained to become an AH-64D Apache Longbow helicopter pilot, and graduated in January 2012 as the only woman in her Apache class. 

Ashley Ehasz (@ashley_ehasz) / TwitterLater, as the battalion logistics officer and pilot-in-command, she deployed once again to Kuwait and Camp Taji, Iraq, with Operation Inherent Resolve. Ashley then commanded two aviation troops, including an aviation maintenance troop, with the 1st Squadron, 6th Cavalry Regiment out of Fort Riley, Kansas, deploying to South Korea in 2017. After her service, Ashley used her G.I. bill to get her Master’s degree from the University of Oxford. During the pandemic, Ashley worked as a policy writer and project coordinator to implement the CARES Act for county government, and now serves as a government and public service sector consultant. 

For the first time in decades, students, workers, families, and retirees are worse off than the generation before them. They are unable to pay for childcare, find work that offers a livable wage, or afford prescription drug prices. As a woman who commanded in the military, Ashley is battle-tested to solve the problems we face every day, and she will be an outspoken advocate for those struggling the most.